Board - Thread
Next thread ->
Board -> English Forum -> B5X3TC SANDBOX_v1 -> General Discussion

Answers: 23
Page [1] 2 >
SAVOTW







Posts: 1663
# Thread - 2016-06-26 at 10:03 PM
For general comments or ideas
Offline
robah


Beginner



Location: Merseyside
Posts: 6
# Answer: 1 - 2016-06-28 at 12:25 AM
Not sure if anything serious but when I have tried to download, explorer 11 was using smartscreen filtering against the download site. I have disabled and am attempting to download now.


Inactive
|
York2016


Beginner




Posts: 4
# Answer: 2 - 2016-07-01 at 6:29 AM
Well, you were right when saying that other mods wont be compatible. Just for testing, i tested both ADS - Real Wings Edition and CODEA and both do not work properly.
Neither of them will send out fighters automatically the majority of the time, no matter what i do. I noticed in ADS that it doesnt see any of the B5 ships as a "threat" as their "threat value" is null rather than a number.

I have no idea why this is though. Even though ADS uses its own scripts completely separate from the game it wont work. It seems to be random though. I was able to get them to launch on both scripts a couple times but the majority of the time it wont work.

I just really want to have a carrier script working with this mod, its just so much more immersive and makes it easier to launch fighters more quickly.


Last edit by York2016 at 2016-07-01 at 6:31 AM (1x Edited)
Inactive
|
enphily


Beginner




Posts: 13
# Answer: 3 - 2016-07-01 at 7:48 AM
I saw only 2 of First ones ships - Dark Knife and Thoughtforce and can's find Sigmawalker and others:(

And 1 suggestion:
Sectors in the game are very big, but not so much stations there, in result travelling, even with the SETI, so slow. And it feels like slower than in original x3 tc, but i can mistake...
Maybe need increase speed for all ships? 2x or even 3x?


Inactive
|
Amras







Posts: 970
# Answer: 4 - 2016-07-01 at 9:46 AM
We weren't able to add the Sigmawalker yet. I have made the model but... http://sta.sh/02efwxvyjdo3
Well you can imagine how hard it will be to get this right ingame.

And the Kirishiac Lordship, I thought i have finished and given to Savotw. Will have to check. There have been soooo many ships, no wonder if some were forgotten.

About SETI. I think it is SINZA or SETA? I myself had the feeling that it isn't working sometimes. It feels like you turn it on and after a few seconds it slows down as if you are not using it at all.
Anyone else?


------------------
We are one!


Last edit by Amras at 2016-07-03 at 5:40 PM (1x Edited)
Offline
|
enphily


Beginner




Posts: 13
# Answer: 5 - 2016-07-01 at 10:20 AM
Wow wow! It's an EPIC model! I want to kids from you!
And yes, i can imagine how hard this work.
You are heroes, guys


Inactive
|
Frank


Beginner




Posts: 1
# Answer: 6 - 2016-07-01 at 5:33 PM
I am very, very impressed. Great work guys.

One question, having never played X3 before (just bought it from GoG for just this mod), what do I need to do to buy/get a Whitestar my favorite of favorites ships!!!!

Once again, well done and thanks.


Inactive
|
SAVOTW
Thread author







Posts: 1663
# Answer: 7 - 2016-07-02 at 10:19 PM
Whitestar - Follow the install instructions by adding the cheats, then cheat it in. The ship like many others would normally become available through missions, not yet written for this Sandbox.


Offline
|
SAVOTW
Thread author







Posts: 1663
# Answer: 8 - 2016-07-02 at 10:21 PM
Sectors - yea in trying to make it realistic I may have made them too big. Faster ships cause collision issues even worse than the game already suffered. Will think on that one...


Offline
|
SAVOTW
Thread author







Posts: 1663
# Answer: 9 - 2016-07-02 at 10:23 PM
Mod scripts for carriers and wings....if I ever get time I will take a look....


Offline
|
York2016


Beginner




Posts: 4
# Answer: 10 - 2016-07-03 at 9:07 PM
After some more testing, i believe i have found where the conflicts between B5 mod and the Carrier Solution scripts (CODEA, ADS, DCSV2) are.

I encounter 3 problems when trying to use the Carrier Solution scripts.

1. Most of the time, Fighters attached to the carrier script do not deploy against enemies. (I.e. Interceptors or Attack Fighters in CODEA or Automated Carrier or Clear Sector in ADS)
In ADS (and by extension CODEA) i have noticed that no matter what enemy i spawn in or am attacked by, the "threat" value always reads as null. Same with the "Clear Sector" command in the ADS menu, it will say that there is no valid target despite enemies being right next to me.

Possible Conflicts: I believe that your "ThreatAsses"(Yes, thats the name of the script) "nearbyenemies" and "launchdefresponse" scripts might be the conflicting scripts.

2. Fighters launch automatically or via carrier script specific commands (i.e. Patrol launch in CODEA) but their commands get overridden by something else and their command reads as "Idle" but are still moving away from the carrier. The Same thing happens when i try to dock the ships manually or the vanilla dock command. They land but then they immediately launch again with the "Idle" Command and begin moving away from the Carrier

Possible Conflicts: "launchdefresponse" "addfighterscreen" "spsectdef" seem to be the most likely to be conflicting

3. Fighters launch but like to Kamikaze the enemy capital ships. Self Explanatory really.
This seems to be related to the "Docking Problem" mentioned in the bug thread.

Possible Conflicts: All your scripts related to collision avoidance probably affect this.

The reason why im mentioning B5 scripts instead of the Carrier scripts as conflicts is because i think that it would be easier to change the B5 scripts to be compatible rather than changing the Carrier scripts as they are complex....but then again i dont know much about scripting. Also by modifying the B5 scripts, you only need to modify one set of scripts to be compatible whereas there are 3 Carrier Solution scripts.

However, if you absolutely need to modify the Carrier Solution Scripts or if you only have time to make compatible only one(1) carrier solution mod, i would really like for CODEA to be the primary as that is the most immersive and most fitting Carrier Solution mod for the B5 mod universe, in my opinion.


Last edit by York2016 at 2016-07-03 at 9:15 PM (4x Edited)
Inactive
|
SAVOTW
Thread author







Posts: 1663
# Answer: 11 - 2016-07-03 at 11:41 PM
I have a collision avoidance script that puts ships into idle and then resumes the original command...that could be causing issues with fighters. I got fed up watching fighters etc pile into big ships or even 2 big ships crashing, hence the collision scripts. Maybe I can find a work around. The threatasses only works for races/sectors like the shadows and vorlon (NPC) not player stuff. The defResponse script is old and I think I stopped using it (was originally for Raiders).
I wanted this mod to be playable and enjoyable so to that end I will see what I can do with the added info you have given me. Just don't ask me how long it will take The generic mission editor stuff is doing my head in atm ^^

Ohh, remember my race relations were wrong...I've fixed them here but you don't have it yet. In the cheats ensure your relation is bad with the race you test and maybe try again? Shown enemy to you doesn't mean the game will see it that way if their relation to you is neutral.

Are the carrier solutions just for the Player or for NPC as well ?


Last edit by SAVOTW at 2016-07-03 at 11:53 PM (2x Edited)
Offline
|
York2016


Beginner




Posts: 4
# Answer: 12 - 2016-07-04 at 2:20 AM
For testing the Carrier Solution Scripts, i spawned in both non-disguised Raider race vessels as well as vessels set to "Enemy Race."
They didn't launch unless i launched them manually (i.e. ADS "Send Attack Wing" command in the ADS command menu)
They engage the enemy fine if i launch them manually but the other two problems, getting their commands overridden and Kamikazing the enemy Capital ships, occur.

The main problem though is getting the fighters to launch automatically like they should. For some reason, the value for determining whether or not the enemy nearby is a threat to the carrier or is an enemy that can be attacked returns as "null" as seen in the ADS "Threat" value in the ADS menu(It says that the Carrier IS being being attacked in the ADS menu but the Threat value of the attacker is "null").

However, I don't think its the B5 ships themselves or the fact that the race names have changed as i dont have this problem in the BSG mod vs the custom Cylon or Colonial Races.

On another note, for CODEA, i basically have to spawn in the vanilla Military Bases/Orbital Defense Stations because you can only hire pilots (which are required to get your fighters to be used by CODEA) from those types of stations. My guess is that the scripts determine if a station is a Military Base or Orbital Defense Station based on the display name rather than on the ID because it is still compatible with such stations added by AP despite CODEA being created before even TC 3.0. I'll probably rename one of the Earth Alliance Equipment Docks to "Military Base" to test this.

UPDATE: I renamed the EA Equipment Dock to "Military Base" (Changed Name ID from 15351 to 16021) and i can now hire Pilots from those stations. So it is related to the Name ID.

The other Carrier Solution Scripts do not require the hiring of pilots for the script to use the fighters.

Finally, the Carrier Solution scripts can only be used by the Player owned ships. No doubt the automatic carrier commands would mean alot of side effects if it were to be used by NPCs. Plus, it would be too taxing on resources anyways if it were to be used by both Player owned ships and NPC owned ships.


Last edit by York2016 at 2016-07-04 at 2:32 AM (2x Edited)
Inactive
|
enphily


Beginner




Posts: 13
# Answer: 13 - 2016-07-04 at 10:42 AM
I did some balance tests. Create some NPC ships who was a enemy for each other

[1]. Narn G'Quan vs Centauri Primus
- both dead . great job, i like it

[2]. EA Warlock vs Sharlin, Neroon and Valen Carrier.
- As result, Valen survived only. With 1/2 hull). Shame, Warriors, shame

[3]. 10x Drazi Phoenix + 6 Vree Xill vs Shadow Battlecrab Dreadnaut.
- Battlecrab was destroyed, but kill 1xDrazi ship. Not fair battle, yeah

[4]. 6x Vorlon m6 + 20 vorlons m4 vs [3] + 5 x Whitestars + 3x G'Quan + 1x Primus + 4x Vorchan. Hard battle
- ISA wins, but only 2x drazi, 2x whitestars and 1x vorchan stay alive.
NOTE: vorlon m4 is a cheat! 1x M4 Killed Whitestar and Drazi Phoenix
shadow and vorlon shealds too strong.

Laser weapons should be rebalanced because it's not effective when delay between shots is so long.
i have suggestion. weapons have ranks - ultra light, light, medium, etc.
ultra light - 0.5 sec shot, 0.5 sec pause
light ------- 1 sec shot, 1 sec pause
medium ------ 2/3 sec shot, 2/3 sec pause
NB/PB/FB ---- 4 sec shot, 4 sec pause
heavy ------- 6 sec shot, 6 sec pause
ultra heavy - 8 sec shot, 8 sec pause

Or so. Otherwise pulse beam better than any laser beam when NPC use it


Inactive
|
SAVOTW
Thread author







Posts: 1663
# Answer: 14 - 2016-07-04 at 5:50 PM
@York: Likely I will rename the Eq Docks back to MB's as they were previously (changed it to Eq docks make it clear to players where to go get hardware but MB does sound much better and has an extra function). When I find time I will download the scripts you mentioned and try to eliminate any conflicts.

@enphily : I will probably downgrade the firstones (a little!they are supposed to be way better than the rest including the Warlock, ISA stuff)and look at what u said about the weapons


Offline
|
Tolwyn


Beginner




Posts: 4
# Answer: 15 - 2016-07-12 at 6:46 PM
Hello, I just started the Escort Mission from Jericho to Arisia of the high profile convoy and the ships don't fly to the Arisia Jumpgate.

Is there a way to enter a story mode or smething like that? After the first two missions the game leaves me alone with what to do next.


Inactive
|
SAVOTW
Thread author







Posts: 1663
# Answer: 16 - 2016-07-14 at 1:00 AM
@Tolwyn : There are very few B5 missions, hence the Sandbox title

1. Flight tutorial (Mistral)
2. Collection of Maintenance parts from Jericho (transport)
3. Fighting some raiders (Tiger)

If I ever get time.......

4. .....will be a mission to destroy raider spy beacons in HS(Tiger)..

5. .....will be a mission to rescue a ranger pilot with vital info(Fulgurite)...


I made these few missions mostly to prove that it could be done and maybe to show others the possibilities. So that they could try

+ there are some of the X3 default missions (escorts/assassinations etc) that I had tried to adapt for B5 - but appear broken. I'd like to make more B5 story driven missions, but the mission editor is a pain and other things always seem to come first.

Escort mission - Sometimes the ships behave and pass through the gates, other times they seem to just fly around each other trying to decide who's leader or something. I have no idea why they work one time but not the next....


Offline
|
anjhon


Beginner




Posts: 2
# Answer: 17 - 2016-07-17 at 8:51 PM
Hello all.
I just installed The B5 Sandbox. Most Impressive ! ! !

As a quick point. It is possible to to keep your original X3TC installion intact & playable.
Once you have a clean install. Before installing the B5 Sandbox. Make a complete copy of the X3TC installation folder. The easiest way is to just right click on the "C:\...\EGOSOFT\X3 Terran Conflict" installation directory and picking copy. Then pasting it directly right next to it in the same "EGOSOFT" folder. it will create a complete duplicate with a " - copy". I recommend renaming this to " - orginal".
Then once the B5 installation is complete, you can switch back and forth by adding a " - B5" to the Sandbox installation directory & removing the " - original" from the other. (Note: be certain not to leave the blank space in front of the hyphen when doing this)
You will additionally need to manage your save game folder(s) in your mydocuments/egosoft/x3tc folder in a similar fashion. I hope this makes sense to everyone.

That said, I have a few comments and questions.
Q1: Is it normal for all the pilots of the other ships to still be X3TC characters? Born, Split, etc.
Q2: Is is also normal for there to be no audio from any pilot when you "com" them. I get a written pop up message with the typ[ical X3TC mesaages. but no audio.

Comment1: I have experienced some initial loading delays. and similar delays as I warp into a sector. but feel this is do to the LARGE universe & the game just doing house keeping.
C2: Everything plays just fine. I have even been able to get a raider pilot to bail, and then claim the ship by spacewalking close to it.
C3: I do not know if this is a bug or not, but the Rakell Outpost in Nocalo is selling Boron Law Inforcement Lisc. in my game.

Great Mod Guys !
I can't even begin to imagine the amount of work you've all put in.

THANK YOU !


Last edit by anjhon at 2016-07-17 at 9:48 PM (2x Edited)
Inactive
|
anjhon


Beginner




Posts: 2
# Answer: 18 - 2016-07-17 at 9:49 PM
2016-07-17 at 8:51 PM - anjhon:
Hello all.
I just installed The B5 Sandbox. Most Impressive ! ! !

As a quick point. It is possible to to keep your original X3TC installion intact & playable.
Once you have a clean install. Before installing the B5 Sandbox. Make a complete copy of the X3TC installation folder. The easiest way is to just right click on the "C:\...\EGOSOFT\X3 Terran Conflict" installation directory and picking copy. Then pasting it directly right next to it in the same "EGOSOFT" folder. it will create a complete duplicate with a " - copy". I recommend renaming this to " - orginal".
Then once the B5 installation is complete, you can switch back and forth by adding a " - B5" to the Sandbox installation directory & removing the " - original" from the other. (Note: be certain not to leave the blank space in front of the hyphen when doing this)
You will additionally need to manage your save game folder(s) in your mydocuments/egosoft/x3tc folder in a similar fashion. I hope this makes sense to everyone.

That said, I have a few comments and questions.
Q1: Is it normal for all the pilots of the other ships to still be X3TC characters? Born, Split, etc.
Q2: Is is also normal for there to be no audio from any pilot when you "com" them. I get a written pop up message with the typical X3TC messages. but no audio.

Comment1: I have experienced some initial loading delays. and similar delays as I warp into a sector. but feel this is do to the LARGE universe & the game just doing house keeping.
C2: Everything plays just fine. I have even been able to get a raider pilot to bail, and then claim the ship by spacewalking close to it.
C3: I do not know if this is a bug or not, but the Rakell Outpost in Nocalo is selling Boron Law Inforcement Lisc. in my game.

Great Mod Guys !
I can't even begin to imagine the amount of work you've all put in.

THANK YOU !


Last edit by anjhon at 2016-07-17 at 10:08 PM (1x Edited)
Inactive
|
SAVOTW
Thread author







Posts: 1663
# Answer: 19 - 2016-07-18 at 1:54 AM
We started replacing the computer voice, but the rest of the audio/video is largely unchanged. Our missions are currently not voiced either, so yes only text type messages come through. Maybe this can be improved at a later date, but it's not my department or a high priority atm. But it would be nice to get it fixed
The delay in initial loading seems to be typical as all the scripts etc load up. The sector delays seem to be models loading in for the first time. I've had similar delays entering Minbari space for the first time and 3rd space (multi-layered model with lighting effects) is like waiting for it to stop raining in Wales ^^
I've fixed the security licenses (military bases), but I'll check out the league outposts etc as well.
Thanks for the nice comments and the solution for returning to vanilla X3 TC I hope the 1.1 update will bring a lot of improvements


Last edit by SAVOTW at 2016-07-18 at 1:55 AM (1x Edited)
Offline
|
enphily


Beginner




Posts: 13
# Answer: 20 - 2016-08-17 at 2:20 PM
I want version 1.1 or some parts of it for test. NAAAAU /jk


Inactive
|
Answers: 23
Page [1] 2 >


You must be registered.




Register
Send password

No active vote



2017-05-13 at 11:03 AM
Babylon 5 Civlizat..
2017-05-11 at 11:41 PM
Schriftart in der ..
2017-01-13 at 10:09 AM
Immer her damit!
2017-01-13 at 9:56 AM
Gates
2017-01-13 at 9:50 AM
Was gefällt euch g..
2017-01-13 at 9:43 AM
Gebietsausweitung
2017-01-11 at 1:27 PM
Bugs and issues re..
2017-01-02 at 4:07 AM
List of Babylon 5 ..


no banners added

Besucher
39 Online
557 Heute
611 Gestern
16.179 Monat
1.687.181 Gesamt

Wer ist online:

No data found.